top of page


The Appanoose County Historical & Coal Mining Museum is owned and operated by the Appanoose County Historical Society in Centerville, Iowa. The main museum is located in the former Centerville, Iowa post office, a beautiful architectural gem built in 1903 that is on the National Register of Historic Places.  The Historical Society also owns the old Appanoose County Jail & Sheriff's Residence, which is currently under renovation. 

The Historical Society is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit.

Lisa Eddy


Lisa has been the curator of the museum since 2006. A lifelong resident of Centerville,  She was a computer technician for many years, but has turned her attention to sharing the stories of Appanoose County's past with the community and visitors to the museum. 

Dave Walljasper


Dave has spent his career in Appanoose County as a fisheries biologist at the Rathbun Fish Hatchery. He followed in his father-in-law Harold Heckman's footsteps into the board of the Appanoose County Historical Society and also spends time helping out with Centerville's Historic Preservation Corporation.

Gary Cridlebaugh



Gary is one of Centerville's esteemed Citizens of the Year! He is a tireless volunteer for the Historical Society as well as many other organizations in the community.  He is a retired postal worker who likes to let visitors know that he actually worked in the building when it was a post office!

Kathy Cridlebaugh


Kathy is a life-long resident of Appanoose County, growing up in the Unionville/Udell area. She is one of the best volunteers in town, sharing her time and talents with many organizations.

Kae Morgan


Kae is life-long Centerville resident who does a tremendous job as the secretary of the historical society. She, too, is a wonderful volunteer for her church, the Centerville Band program and many other events in the community.


James Adams

Gary Craver

Gary Cridlebaugh
Kathy Cridlebaugh

George Eddy

Scott Jackson

Rodger Kaster

David Kauzlarich

Cathy Knorr

Margy McCarthy

Dr. Brad McConville

Susan McDanel

Kae Morgan

Steve Morgan

Tyler Morgan

Dana Moritz

Scott Palmer

Rick Sharp

Randy Walker

Dave Walljasper

Dan Wilson

Judy Lamb - Honorary Board       Member

bottom of page